Contact Us

Follow us on Facebook

Zelman Memorial Symphony Orchestra

Principal Conductor and Artistic Director - Mark Shiell
Leader - Mary Johnston

80 Years of Fine Music

Our next concert:

Sunday 28 September 2014, 2.00pm

By invitation from Federation Square

Deakin Edge,
Federation Square, Melbourne

Tchaikovsky's Pathétique

This free one-hour concert features Tchaikovsky's most personal work, his Pathétique Symphony, whose hostile reception plunged Tchaikovsky into despair. This is one of his most heart-wrenching, passionate and beloved works.

The concert will also feature the second-ever performance of "The Death of Pythagóras at Metaпontum", a new work by the 2014 Zelman Symphony Melbourne University Emerging Composer, Michael Bakrnčev.


Mark Shiell - conductor


This is a free concert, and no tickets are required.


Michael Bakrnčev - The Death of Pythagóras at Metaпontum
Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 6 Pathétique

(more details...)

Saturday 6 December 2014, 8.00pm

Sunday 7 December 2014, 2.30pm

Eldon Hogan Performing Arts Centre,
Xavier College, Barkers Road, Kew

The Planets

We asked - you voted - we chose.

Gustav Holst's The Planets is a favourite of audiences and it appears you are no exception! After Mahler 8 we are ready to take on the world (and beyond). Our orchestra and you, our audience, have grown so much together in recent years. We are looking forward to sharing this interstellar musical adventure.

Joining us for this journey into lightspeed (and to play Vaughan William's beautiful Oboe Concerto) will be the extraordinary young oboist, Andrew Kawai, finalist in last year's ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year Award, when he won the "People's Choice Prize", "Concerto Finalist Prize" and the "Best Recital Prize".

Mark Shiell will present a pre-concert talk in the auditorium commencing 7.30pm.


Mark Shiell - conductor
Andrew Kawai - oboe


Buy tickets online Now
Mastercard, Visa and AMEX.


Britten - Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Vaughan Williams - Concerto for Oboe and Strings
Holst - The Planets

(more details...)

The Zelman Symphony is proudly supported by:

Printable View
Page last modified on July 06, 2014, at 10:10 PM